Skip to content

PERSONAL PROJECTS AND SUCH.

March 16, 2012

Work’s kinda been a killer recently (which is good in my line of work, trust me) so I haven’t had enough time to update this blog or work on personal projects and actually finish them. So, I’ve been doing a lot of juggling and at the same time, work on technique and try out/tweak new Photoshop brushes.

I. SOME WORKS IN PROGRESS

Hanna, The Penguin, White Lady, Girl

A. A few months ago, I posted an entry about the movie, “Hanna.” I used the sketch as a study for character design and shading/lighting practice.

B. The Penguin. Watercolor brush practice.

C. This is a project I’m still toying with. It involves ghosts and/or monsters. Could be a good idea for my own personal satisfaction, but like I said, I’m still just brain-doodling.

D. Another illustration I’ve been wanting to do for a while now. I can be kind of a romantic at times, so yes, this involves two love birds that see each other for the first time.

II. BLOWN COVERS

A couple of weeks ago, I chanced upon this website  called, Blown Covers, which is a blog run by New Yorker art editors Francoise Mouly and Nadja Spiegelman. Much like Illustration Friday, the site posts weekly topics wherein people can send in their own take on fake New Yorker covers in which the authors pick a weekly winner. The only difference? IT’S THE CREATIVE MINDS BEHIND THE NEW YORKER THAT’S RUNNING IT. Sorry, but I just couldn’t stress that enough. 🙂

This week’s topic is Easter. The blog folks only ask for sketches, so I sent in a few. Even though I didn’t win (which I didn’t expect to and wasn’t my goal in the first place), at least all 4 were posted on the blog.

Blown Covers - Easter

I will try to do this exercise regularly since it’ll help hone my conceptual and editorial skills as an illustrator. If you’re an aspiring illustrator, I suggest you do this, too (and Illustration Friday)!

III. INSPIRATION

Some days, I feel like I look at other people’s work more than I work on mine. Unfortunately, today was no exception. I’ve followed the Missed Connections blog for quite some time now, but this video was very inspiring. Sophie Blackall, you are one talented lady.

IV. EVOLUTION

Within the next few months, you’ll see profound changes to this blog. I have a few dreams and goals in mind for it, and hopefully, it will come to fruition sooner rather than later! Stay tuned!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

