Skip to content

SKETCH-A-THON: B-TOWN FARMER’S MARKET.

October 4, 2011

It’s been awhile since I went out and whipped out my pencil and sketch pad to do some sketching-from-life action, so I made it a point to give up part of my Saturday and venture into the local farmer’s market. Musicians, local coffee and produce, interesting characters–it’s the kind of place that offers a level of energy you can’t find elsewhere. Small town feel, yet fast-paced. An artist’s paradise, if you will.

It took me quite a bit of time to get into the groove of things, to be honest. Using the WACOM way too much proved to be a disadvantage. Why? Ctrl+z wasn’t an option at this instance and I actually had to use an eraser. I felt like a caveman. Also, people move like the speed of light in a place like this, so there was no point in spending too much time focusing on one subject. I was forced to do quick gesture & shape sketches and just finish up the detail using my super awesome memory. A bit more challenging than I anticipated, yes, but a good exercise, nonetheless.

Medium: HB Pencil + 5.5 x 8.5 Sketch Paper

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

