Skip to content

WACOM: THE ROOKIE EDITION.

August 20, 2011

If you know me personally as an artist, then you would probably also know the following about me:

A) I am more of a traditional artist, which essentially means I prefer to draw by hand.
B) Most of my work are in black and white.

As much as I would like to say that both of these are by preference, a big part of it is also played by the fact that I’ve been, like many other artists, a “starving artist” for most of my so-called creative career. I worked dead-end jobs that didn’t pay enough for me to afford art supplies. I didn’t know how, nor did I have the means (which also lead to lack of cojones)  to expand my network in the creative field. All these played pivotal roles in many disappointments and discouragements when it came to finding a solid path toward a bright, artistic future.

But lo and behold, just when things felt all too bleak, I was blessed with an opportunity that until now, feels too good to be true. To make the long story short, I am now getting paid to draw… 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. And because of this, many doors have opened, including the most important thing of all for an artist: personal creative growth. Working in such an environment allows me to expand my horizons and step outside my comfort level. I now have access to things I’ve never even layed a finger on before. An example of which, would be the WACOM. A nifty little gadget that allows a person to draw on the computer without the use of a mouse. To be quite honest, it’s very intimidating at first. But as momma always said: “Practice makes perfect.” Now, keep in mind that I am a novice at this. The main outlines in each drawing are still hand-drawn and scanned, the coloring part is what is digital. I’ve yet to actually draw something on it.

So, without further ado, my first few attempts at the WACOM tablet.

I was sketching for a character study of a troll when this guy came about. I drew him with an 0.8 and 0.1 ink pen. I decided not to use him for the book I was illustrating, but instead as practice for my digital coloring.

This is a project that our Creative Director assigned each illustrator to do. It’s pretty self-explanatory. These are the different illustration levels that our company offers for our clients, so each client can choose the style they think will best fit their project. I chose a T-Rex, just because it’s cool.

So there yah have it. More to come soon!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 2:30 am

    This looks so awesome, Jingo!!

  2. September 16, 2011 8:52 pm

    TO WHAT JOB ARE YOU REFERRING? It’s really great to see you gaining access to creative growth (and sick new toys). Personal development and self-actualization can be hard to achieve when you have to deal with INSANITY AND UNCOMFORTABLE PANTS. OH YEAH A PAYCHECK HELP, TOO!

    • Raphael permalink
      September 16, 2011 9:03 pm

      Holy shit, Brian, I’m glad I clicked on your blog link. Otherwise, I wouldn’t know that it was you and would’ve trashed it as Spam. But yes, so great to be in a creative mood when you’re not wearing mom pants! Here’s to growing up, yo!

Leave a Reply

